My writing ‘Aha!’ moment

toddler-scrib

I am just a toddler in this new found passion of ‘Writing’. I have just crossed the 20 mark as far as the numbers of blog posts are concerned. I do not know how far this passion will stand the test of time and how many more may be added to the number. It is beyond my visualization as of now. I have often read that every writer has a special ‘Wow’ or ‘Aha’ moment during his creative writing. Even though as I just mentioned I am a toddler at writing, with a pen in hand and penning down thoughts flowing at random as a toddler would do on a blank piece of paper, I thought of taking a peep into my blog posts and finding my ‘Aha’ moment.

As a mother of two, I know that for every mother all her babies are special but the first one holds a special place in heart as it is the ‘First’. So likewise, I feel my first ‘Aha’ moment was when I wrote my very first blog post on ‘Idealogue’, my blog webpage. This was special for two reasons; firstly, I was writing something creative after a long gap since school, when we wrote essays, and secondly, I was just happy doing it.

With every blog, thereafter, I continued to challenge myself at writing different genres and it was while writing one of these that I experienced my second ‘Aha’ moment. It was while writing one of the posts- ‘Left behind’ in which I penned down my thoughts in the form of a small poem. It was truly “‘Aha!’ did I do it?”, after I read what I had written. Not because it was an extraordinary piece of poetry but just because I had managed to do write my thoughts in a different genre I had never ever thought before.

I like reading poems and find that they are one of the most difficult genre in creative writing. I know I have a long way to go in this journey of writing and hope that there will be many more, even more ‘Aha’ moments ahead waiting to mesmerize me.

As a parting note to conclude this post I am reminded of a few lines from a truly wonderful poem by Robert Frost- ‘The woods are lovely, dark and deep, But I have promises to keep,And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.’ 

My writing journey just begins…. :-)!!!

 

Leave a Reply

